top of page

Seven Days Ago (Diet Cig, The Flatliners, etc)

Let me get this out of the way: I TOLD you guys female fronted bands are saving 2017. In every aspect. Girls RULE.

Anyway, seven days ago, amazing music came was released, and you know me. Music and mashed potato fanatic. I am also a fan of lists. So here we go, a list of music.

(This just in: The Dirty Nil has just released a new song TODAY and I am currently listening to it. I love it, though I am biased, it rocks. Promise. Don't say I never give you enough music.)

1. I Swear I'm Good At This, Diet Cig

I loooove Diet Cig. The first time I heard Harvard (linked below), I knew this fan/band relationship was meant to be. Tummy Ache and Barf Day are absolutely perfect. So much punk, so much fun, so much fearless and unapologetic songs that make you want to dance and blow off that dude from Boston. There's not too much more to say about Diet Cig without it being "I love them" every three words. The duo is unlike anything you've ever heard before, and frontwoman Alex is going to make sure her opinion is heard. They're amazing live, and even have a super-cute cactus enamel pin. I feel if "Crimson Wave" from Tacocat went hardcore, it would've been a bonus track on the record. Not that it isn't amazing as is. Even if you only listen to the album's opener, Sixteen will catch your attention. I'll leave it at that.

2. Inviting Light, The Flatliners

Punk rock. The band definitely sounds different than 2015's Division of Spoils, but I've come to love sound changes. They make the world go 'round. Sonically, there's so much growth. Production is flawless, and the band knows how to make their instruments become cohesive with the elements of their song. Too often lately, a song flows off course because of unwise synth or production choices. None of that here. I'm so happy with this record, I dig The Flatliners, and if you like Arkells, this band is a no-brainer. Seriously. They're quickly gaining steam, and rightfully so. Hang My Head and Human Party Trick are JAMS, if you wanted a suggestion. (I know you did :~).

3. Knocking At The Door, Arkells

Wait, didn't I just mention these "Arkell" dudes?

Yes, I did.

HOLY MOLY, GUYS.

I wasn't expecting this one. I was on Facebook, I saw Auteur Research posted an update. And it was about one of my favorite bands. So obviously, I stopped and stared. As the hip people at my university would say, "My wig was snatched"!

I wasn't expecting anything less from Arkells, (progressive, non-imitation, mature punk rock), but the jazz undertones and choir in the background caught me off guard in the best way. Everything about this release is amazing, and suddenly, I am lusting for the amazing follow-up to 2016's Morning Report. As in, give it to me now, because this song has been on repeat for the longest.

 THE ARTIFACT MANIFAST: 

 

This is a great space to write long text about your company and your services. You can use this space to go into a little more detail about your company. Talk about your team and what services you provide. Tell your visitors the story of how you came up with the idea for your business and what makes you different from your competitors. Make your company stand out and show your visitors who you are. Tip: Add your own image by double clicking the image and clicking Change Image.

 UPCOMING EVENTS: 

 

10/31/23:  Scandinavian Art Show

 

11/6/23:  Video Art Around The World

 

11/29/23:  Lecture: History of Art

 

12/1/23:  Installations 2023 Indie Film Festival

 FOLLOW THE ARTIFACT: 
  • Facebook B&W
  • Twitter B&W
  • Instagram B&W
 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.
bottom of page