top of page

Bring the Local Noise, Boys

Alright..I have a confession to make. It may come as a shock to some people, and others might not know exactly how to take it, but honesty is the best policy, right? Right. So here it is:

I love alternative music.

Wow...that was refreshing to get off of my chest.

But on a serious note, alternative is such a broad category, and why I could go on a rant about how Apple Music mislabels their music genres, I won't. This post is all about local bans (because I take up residence in Chicago) that I've recently, and by recently, I mean in the past 24 hours, taken a huge hankering to. These bands definitely deserve more exposure, so here I am. Exposing. Reading for tea. Let's go.

1. Double Feature

HOLY COW. This band is amazing. I love thematic albums, and the band's self-titled is set up in a way that is exactly what it sounds like-a double feature. I felt as if I was in a theatre listening to their album, and if you remember the Skrill remix of "Cinema" (yeah, I'm bringing that back) and how you actually felt like you were in some weird dystopian-rave themed cinema, Double Feature is BETTER than that. The band is noise ska, and I love it. Their most recent release is a split with Ez Kebage (see below), and the split features my favorite song, "I'll Buy You Flowers". I can see myself jumping around at a show screaming the catchy chorus in a song that makes little sense to me, and that feeling lets me know I'm digging a stellar song. If you dig the sound of 80's Descendents...do I even have to continue?

Check out: Cinque Terre

2. Drones

Now, I have a soft spot for melodic punk. I do. Maybe its because of the alternative blood flowing through my veins. In my opinion, Drones is no-frills punk. They have a mission and accomplish it. Noise, instruments, lyrics. Boom. I like their short, impactful songs, and they're all neatly collected on Guts, their newest released. Though this band is a twin cities band, I consider them fairly local (no twenty one pilots pun intended), because they play here frequently. My favorite song is 36 second album opener, "Simple Question". Partly because I wear docs with dresses, but mostly because it's a good opener, track, and capture of the band. Looking for new-wave punk with a backsplash of Social D? Hello, here they are.

Check out: Lungs

3. Ez Kebage

These dudes know what they're doing, and rightfully so. They've been in the game since '06, according to their Facebook. (Their Facebook also says '03, so I'm not really sure what the truth is, but the point is, they've had their dances in the pit). And it shows. I get distinct NOFX vibes. Complete noise, but not so ugly that I can't understand the lyrics. You know what this band reminds me of? "I Was A Teenage Anarchist". Especially "Bruiser Body", featured on their Split with Double Feature. Heart racing, head banging, classic punk music. In short, there's nothing to really dislike about Ez Kebage if you're a punk fan. I'm loving all of the good music Chicago punk scene contributors have been hiding from me.

Check out: Double Feature-a song they wrote for...guess who? Don't worry, Double Feature returned the favor.

4. Droids Blood

With only a demo out, Droids Blood caught my attention. I'm not sure why people sleep on demos, because often that's where you'll find the true core and intent of bands. Not only does the bandcamp page have purple vibes I'm really digging, but with the collection titled simply "demo", you'll find exploratory punk with thematic songs with synth experimentation. I appreciate the fearlessness put into the record, and it's very interesting to listen to. It may be a little different if you're strictly searching for head rockers, but me, I'm just looking for a good time, and Droids Blood is truly, truly enjoyable. Take my favorite track, "to the stumped realitymongers". It's garage-y, intelligent, and a ride from start to finish. This is a brand of punk that really makes you think about what you're listening to, and I think that's incredible.

Check out: rotary phone

**Other Punk Bands that aren't local:

Hot Pink Hangover (Twin Cities, MN)

The Dead Deads (Nashville, TN)

The Psyactics (Las Vegas, NV)

White Reaper (Louisville, KY)


 THE ARTIFACT MANIFAST: 

 

This is a great space to write long text about your company and your services. You can use this space to go into a little more detail about your company. Talk about your team and what services you provide. Tell your visitors the story of how you came up with the idea for your business and what makes you different from your competitors. Make your company stand out and show your visitors who you are. Tip: Add your own image by double clicking the image and clicking Change Image.

 UPCOMING EVENTS: 

 

10/31/23:  Scandinavian Art Show

 

11/6/23:  Video Art Around The World

 

11/29/23:  Lecture: History of Art

 

12/1/23:  Installations 2023 Indie Film Festival

 FOLLOW THE ARTIFACT: 
  • Facebook B&W
  • Twitter B&W
  • Instagram B&W
 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.
bottom of page